Skip to content

Security and insecurity ….

June 30, 2010

What is your connection to security and insecurity? In astrology, security is a 2nd house theme, ruled by Taurus. Scorpio being the opposing sign, also gets tied up in this. And the 2nd and 8th houses are respectively home to Taurus and Scorpio. Both signs are also “fixed”.

Before you even look at your chart, think first about how you view “security”. Think about all the times you felt insecure in your life and think about “why” you felt that way, what causes it?

Then go check out your 2nd and 8th house cusps. Where are their rulers in your chart? What aspects do they have? Are there any planets in the 2nd or 8th house? What aspects do they have?

I have a Stellium in my natal second house (Stellium means there’s a collection of 3 or more planets, a focus of energy) Saturn, Sun, Uranus in Sagittarius and Juno and Neptune in Capricorn. For me, insecurity in my life has propelled me into finding security that can’t be taken from me, to be self-sufficient, to believe in myself.  Save money, acquire things I need or enjoy, Secure my future or my present…. to make sure I’m not without.
    <—— My Second House… Like DUH!

I’m very much fixated on this even though I still have fun and live a little free from time to time. If I spend too much money within a couple weeks time I get depressed till I make more and save about the same about, only then do I living up and act a little more free.  I wont date men if I find out they aren’t secure as myself or plan for their future as much as I do because becoming involved with them could compromise my goals (Neptune and Uranus in there used to make me wanna save them and teach them how to liberate themselves from money problems) This is my current relationship with security and I’m sure it will change over time… but slowly, this is a “fixed” house.

Stelliums are interesting because of the focus on a particular area. For me, I’m just as fascinated with people who don’t secure their future, it’s beyond my mind and I’m incapable of understanding how they live. I’m not wired to do, think, or understand anything but my “fixed” position.

But this is all talk on a small scale, the personal man. Looking out for ones self, as I’ve taught myself to do. I do have Sagittarius on my second cusp. It may not be Aquarius (concern for humanity) but I do have concern for those in other cultures who do not even have the right to secure themselves… how do they “really” live like this?

Eve Ensler of the Vagina Monologues, shares some interesting insight on how she thinks “Security” causes “Insecurity”…. Yeah that’s right. Isn’t that crazy? Watch her TEDTalks video and see if you might agree with her.

And see what 2/8 house themes pop up in what she’s talking about….

Eve Ensler: Security and insecurity…. Playwright Eve Ensler explores our modern craving for security — and why it makes us less secure. Listen for inspiring, heartbreaking stories of women making change. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

